Gmail's Confidential Mode for G-Suite to be Launched on June 25




In an attempt to mature its email services, Google rolled out a privacy-centric feature called as ‘confidential mode’ which according to the announcements made by the company will be available for all the G suite users in the month of June. Reportedly, in 2018, a beta version of the feature has been launched in the month of August.
The feature is well-built to serve the users and their sensitive information; once available, the mode is configured to “be set to default ON for all domains with Gmail enabled, unless you choose to disable this feature" as per the Google announcements.
With the newly added Confidential Mode turned on, users are aided with inbuilt information rights management controls which allow them to set a specific expiration date for emails that will delete them automatically after the set deadline and they can also, revoke sent emails.
This groundbreaking feature of Gmail will also allow users to send self-destructing emails that will restrict forwarding and block printing to other users. 
As the officials further explained, “Because a sender can require additional authentication via text message to view an email, it’s also possible to protect data even if a recipient’s email account has been hijacked while the message is active."

How to use confidential mode

First of all, ensure that you are using the new version of Gmail which can be activated from the gear icon at the top.
Now open Gmail and click on compose, at the bottom of the mailbox will appear a tiny clock icon, click on that icon to configure the settings of that mail.  
You will have to go through this procedure for each mail you wish to use the feature with as the mode is configured on a per-email basis.


Category: / / /

Share this with Your friends: