Search This Blog

"Your friend added a new photo with you to the album" spam leads to malware


Spam mails which disguised as Facebook notification informs users that a friend has added a new photo with you to the album, intercepted by Sophos

The mail is designed such that it will look similar to the original Facebook notification and are titled "Your friend added a new photo with you to the album"

“One of Your Friends added a new photo with you to the album. You are receiving this email because you've been listed as a close friend. View photo with you in the attachment,” the messages read.


The attached ZIP file contains malware, designed to allow hackers to gain control over your Windows computer. The malware is detected as Troj/Agent-XNN by Sophos products.

"But there are surely many people who could be duped into believing that they have been tagged by one of their friends in a photograph, and want to see if they look overweight, unattractive or simply fabulous (delete as applicable)." Sophos experts says.

Share it:

Spam Report