Facebook hoax "Prayers for Like"


The message is a disgraceful hoax designed to get maximum number of likes for a facebook page and further promote it through sharing the message.

A baby's photograph was taken out illegally from a personal facebook profile and is circulated without the parents permission. Unfortunately the baby from the photograph died two weeks after her birth. As the baby's picture is being circulated without the parents permission, it is causing great pain to them. If this hoax message comes your way, do not like or share it. Advisory, report this particular message to Facebook.

According to the facebook's currently distributed hoax message, you can offer prayers to this baby girl by liking or sharing the picture. However, liking or sharing the particular message would not help the baby, infact would cause considerable distress to the parents and make them belligerent.

The people who create these messages are highly motivated by the green eyed monster and look through the children whose pictures they misuse. Facebook pages with large number of likes are a source of black market and can also be sold to inhumane internet marketers and used to make further scam and hoax messages.

Believes of offering prayers for someone who is unfotunate is sane but reciprocating it through social networking sites is simply absurd. Are we to believe on a denigrating fact that, “almighty has a deal with facebook that one shrare contributes hundred prayers?”

Not only this it can also be seen on other pages including images of God and Godesses and they ask for a like or comment to seek There blessings.Well its ironical that even the Almighty now needs likes, shares and comments on their images for blessing the mankind.Huh.Well my suggestion is open up your eyes and think broadly.

If this message comes your way, do not like, share or comment on such a post. It plays in favour of inhumane and immoral people who earn from such hoaxes.

The company needs to take action that ensures that these scam messages are removed from the network as quickly as possible.

Moreover, facebook has actually removed some of the messages, as they have been reported a number of times. The company should ensure that these hoaxes are removed from the network as quickly as possible.

Phishing mail says 'DSVX virus' detected in Your Yahoo Mail


If you are getting emails saying that a virus detected in Your Yahoo Email account, ignore the emails.  It is none other than another tricky method used by cybercriminals to fool users.

Hoax-slayer has spotted a fake email claiming to be from Yahoo informs recipients that it has detected a so-called DSVX virus in your yahoo mail account and you have to update your account.

The email warns the recipients that if they failed to update, they will lose access to their email address.

It also claims the update will give latest spam protection, faster email and unlimited storage facility. 

To update their email, it asks the recipients to send their username, email id, password, email security question and answer, country, phone number and Date of Birth by clicking the Reply Button.

Keep in mind that Yahoo or any other organizations are never going to ask you to send your username and passwords or any other sensitive data via an unsecured email.

Scam Alert: Your Facebook Accounts will be Permanently Disabled

We have seen large numbers of facebook posts that promise something, but it turns out to be a scam.  Fb users are still believing such kind of posts and blindly following the instructions.  So, Cyber criminals are keep coming up with new themes to trick users.

Over the past few days, i have been receiving a facebook notifications informing that one of my friends mentioned me in a comment.  I had a look at the post, it is none other than a facebook scam.

The scam posts says "to all facebook users Your Facebook Accounts will Permanent Disable. you must register your account to avoid permanent disabled . How to register? Go to our pinned post. and follow instructions carefully!" 

It asks you to copy and paste some code in the console of your browser.  By blindly following the instructions of scammers,  users are allowing scammers to do various actions('like', 'sharing', 'tagging friends' and more) on their behalf.

Earlier this year,  we learned that scammers were tricking users by promising them that following the instructions will help them to hack their friends' accounts.

Cybercriminals abusing Microsoft Azure for phishing attacks


CyberCriminals usually host fake web pages on hacked websites, free web hosting, more recently they abused Google Docs.  These fake pages(phishing pages) trick unsuspecting users into handing over their personal and financial information.

Now, the cyber criminals have started to abuse the Microsoft's Azure cloud platform to host their fake websites.

Creating accounts on Azure is very easy and they are also offering a 30-day trial.  Once you are done with account creation, you can easily create your web pages using the main dashboard.

However, Registration process is not easy for criminals.  Because, it needs you to provide a valid phone number and credit card details.

MalwareBytes researchers says the attackers may have stolen the username and passwords from legitimate users that were already registered.

Netcraft has identified several phishing pages targeting users of Paypal, Apple, Visa, American express, Cielo hosted on Azure.

PhishTank records:
http://www.phishtank.com/phish_detail.php?phish_id=2428419
http://www.phishtank.com/phish_detail.php?phish_id=2391951
http://www.phishtank.com/phish_detail.php?phish_id=2342647
http://www.phishtank.com/phish_detail.php?phish_id=2174737

Beware of fake versions of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 2.0 claiming to be free


It is always suggested not to download cracked versions of software, if you are really concerned about your Desktop security.  But, Downloading a cracked version of Antivirus or from unknown sources is height of stupidity.

MalwareBytes recently released new version 2.0 of the MalwareBytes Anti-Malware(MBAM). Cyber criminals have now started to trick users into installing the fake versions of this security application.

Researchers at Malwarebytes have come across a number of websites offering free version their software, but are actually potentially unwanted programs.

These bogus applications are capable of making itself run every time, whenever the system is restarted.  They are also capable of accessing your browser cookies, list of restricted sites and browser history.

These apps also blocks users from accessing certain websites by adding them to Internet Explorer's restricted zone, which includes wikia, gamespot, Runescape online.

The security firm also have spotted premium version of MBAM with key generators on torrent websites.  But, in this particular case, users are asked to fill survey in order to download the app.  Filling these kind of surveys will help the cybercriminals to earn money. 

Emails promising CNN article about HeartBleed vulnerability leads to Spam sites

Cyber Criminals often take advantage of hottest topics and latest events to entice users into visiting spam websites. The HeartBleed bug, which has made headlines over the past few weeks, is no exception.

Now, spammers are sending out emails with subject "HeartBleed Bug warning". The spam campaign was discovered by Security researchers at TrendMicro. 

"I Just want to let you know there is a big security concern now in the internet.  The Internet bug called Heartbleed Bug, was recently discovered by experts.  So if were you, you need to change your internet passwords specially your banking passwords." The spam email reads.

"Check for this report in CNN. Report from CNN[LINK]"

If the link provided in the email led to the actual CNN report, the email may have been considered as cyber security awareness email.  But, the link leads to some malicious webpage.

One good thing what spammers did is notifying users about the HeartBleed vulnerability and suggest recipients to change their password.  If the link provided in the email.